Homemade wholegrain corn bread in a pan

I’ve always been a big fan of bread. When I was younger, we’d buy bread every now and then and it tasted great. It was bread from the mould with thick crispy crust. Later on from the age of 8 my mum would bake it, usually big 4 kg heavy round bread. I would disappear within 3-4 days.

We still bake bread at home. When we have no time, we buy it, anyway very rarely. A while ago a friend of mine was talking about his brother who “cooked” bread in a casserole on a stove top. She said that such bread did not differ from baked bread. This made me curious.

Bread on a gas stove top, uncovered, about 10 cm thick. Hmm… I wished to experiment on an electrical stove in a pan, which would be partly covered. I just didn’t wish the bread to feel cold.

Wholegrain corn bread in a pan

Ingredients: 1 part corn flour (I blended polenta into flour), 1 part wholegrain wheat flour, 1 T ground millet, 4 T flax seeds, salt, yeast, some sugar and milk.

DSC09826

Let the yeast rise with some warm milk/water, sugar and flour. Pour the yeast into the mixture of flours, seeds and salt. Knead into dough and let the dough rise. After one hour knead the dough again and let it rise again. Then put the dough on a pan (no need to add oil or flour), low heat (level 3 out of 6), and bake it for 20 min, partly covered.

After 20 min put it around and bake it for another 20 min.  Check it. I prefer thick crispy crust so I let it bake another 10 min on each side. Altogether 1 hour.

DSC09828

The bread weighed 770 g, it was crispy on both sides.

This was my second try and as I love corn flour, I put this time more of it in the dough. Bingo! It is so tasty. I bet it won’t last very long Guiño.

1 Comment

Filed under Wholesome eats

One response to “Homemade wholegrain corn bread in a pan

  1. Pingback: No Knead Bread in a Pan + homemade Nutella | Damjana Likes it Wholesome

Leave a Reply

